Yosemite Park, California, United States

I love parks. Period.

Big ones, small ones, natural ones and man made ones. I have camped at the Kalbarri National Park in Perth, Western Australia during a lovely springtime where the weather was just perfect. Sunny but not scorching hot in the day (18-21) and cool and breezy (9-12) at night.

I remember us setting up the tent (we were the only ones at the camp site with tents.) The rest had campers and caravans and they were all in their late fifties with lots of time to spare. Looking somewhat sympathetically at us while we tried to heat our cans of soup over at the open sharing BBQ area, they offered us the use of our microwave oven in their van.

We politely declined of course and drank up whatever cold slosh we had and went to bed. I then knew how the princess must have felt in the Princess and the Pea where she couldn’t sleep because a pea was placed under her bed.

Well, try rocks of different sizes! Huddled together to keep warm as the temps dropped a tad further, i remember waking up the next morning, thinking solemnly to myself:”next time i camp, it will be in a caravan.” Spring may be nice but its not the time for tents, summer probably. Or maybe wear thicker clothes next time.

Memories of those days in that park brings tales of the good and bad, how I hit my head so head on a protruding rock that i didn’t see, jumping into the cool refreshing river, changing in the dry clothes in double quick time while hoping no one comes along, fumbling your way through the dark to the loo which is 50m away from your tent using your iphone as the only source of light and then hoping no monsters of the night (aka roaches, insets, spiders, bugs) would be on the toilet seat and so much more!

Anyway, I was looking at pictures of the Yosemite Park in California and it has further sealed my love for nature.

high_country_near_tioga_pass_yosemite_national_park_california

source: humanandnatural.com

yosemite-nationalpark

 

source: bills ponderings

Double rainbow! So pretty!

Does that mean there are two pots of gold?

Alpine-Tranquility-Yosemite-National-Park-600x450

This reminds me of the little house on the prairie

Yosemite-National-Park-600x450

 

 

source: festivalholidays.net

IN WINTER:

Note to self: do not camp in tents during winter as well.

Yosemite-National-Park-Snow

source:worldfortravel.com

Wow, it has been transformed into the perfect winter wonderland. I have expect bambi to be bouncing across any moment now.

yosemite-deep-valley_

 

source: nationalgeographic.com

All I can say is, the next time I go to California, this is the place to go for me. Gonna skip Alcatraz and all that jazz in nearby San Francisco and explore this area and of cos Napa Valley for some wine. Checking out some wego cheap flights to see if I can afford to go soon.

Have you ever been to Yosemite Park or any other parks? DO share!

 

 

Leave a comment